KINGS GATES – Dalkeith Estate
Edinburgh Stonemasons Ltd were asked to carry out a take down and stone replacement to the stone work on the iconic Kings Gate in Dalkeith building after been crashed into by a deliver van.
All new stone will be to match existing detail and cut offsite due to the size from Hutton Stone Ltd
Our highly skilled and experienced stonemasons are trained in building such iconic buildings
THIS WORK IS NOT COMPLETED YET
Kings Gates built in 1853 as the original gates The Duke’s Gates figure was erected in 1784 by James Playfair. estate were not grand enough for kings visit to Dalkeith.
Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed two nights at Dalkeith in 1745, King George IV slept here during his visit to Edinburgh in 1822, in preference to Holyroodhouse Palace which was in a poor state, as did Queen Victoria in 1842.
Edinburgh Stonemasons Ltd specialise in the conservation and restoration of stone buildings and structures. We use traditional techniques and materials which incorporate today’s best practices.