Local Stonemason from Dalkeith building the historic KINGS GATES – Dalkeith Estate
Edinburgh Stonemasons Ltd was asked to carry out a takedown and stone replacement to the stonework on the iconic Kings Gate in Dalkeith building after been crashed into by a delivery van.
All new stone will be to match existing detail and cut offsite due to the size from Hutton Stone Ltd
Our highly skilled and experienced stonemasons Dalkeith are trained in building such iconic buildings in Dalkeith are using traditional techniques and materials used when the gates were originally built, due to the historic value of the gates the works was slow recorded everything we found including the masons marks seen in the photos below. the new stone was lead time of 10 weeks after confirmation of stone type and each masonry unit weighted 1300kg each
KINGS GATE HISTORY (DALKEITH)
Kings Gates built in 1822 as the original gates The Duke’s Gates figure was erected in 1784 by James Playfair. estate were not grand enough for kings visit to Dalkeith.
Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed two nights at Dalkeith in 1745, King George IV slept here during his visit to Edinburgh in 1822, in preference to Holyroodhouse Palace which was in a poor state, as did Queen Victoria in 1842.
You can read all about this at Dalkeith County Park website
Edinburgh Stonemasons Ltd specialise in the conservation and restoration of stone buildings and structures. We use traditional techniques and materials which incorporate today’s best practices.